5 Books I Recommend to Everyone

The 5 Books I recommend to everyone.png

An easy way to break a bookworm is to ask them what they’re favorite book is. (DON’T DO THIS SOME—but not all—BOOKWORMS BITE IF PROVOKED)

I love books. I love all sorts of books for all different reasons. But, I also like lists. And I really like definitively ranking things.

There are five books that I’ve read in my 22 years on this planet that stand out more than any other books.

When it comes to ranking books:

  • There’s the 5 star category
  • There’s the “I wish I could have given this more than 5 stars” category
  • Then there’s the “I wish I could have given this more than 5 stars, and then doubled that, then tripled that”

Which is what these books are.

I don’t know what it is, but these 5 books stand above every other book I’ve read. There’s an it factor that just makes these books an otherworldly experience. I recommend that everyone read them, because they’re that amazing.

coffee divider-2

SUMMER OF SALT by Katrina Leno

summer of salt

I read this book in September and.it became an instant favorite. I thought by now I would have the words to describe just how much I loved it, but. . . I’m still pretty speechless.

Why I think everyone should read it:

  • There’s an amazing message about being a girl and a woman, but it’s not preachy or anything it’s just so natural to the story
  • And the message about magic (or I guess the metaphor of magic) is also beautiful
  • The coming of age story is equally heart-breaking, heart-warming, and magical (how many times should I say magical?)
  • It spoke so many truths that needed to be spoken
  • I cried at like six different points? Just because everything comes together for one big emotional punch that had me in awe

THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE by Jandy Nelson

sky is everywhere

This was my favorite book for the longest time! I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read it, and it never gets old.

Why I think everyone should read it:

  • Maybe not the best selling point, but this book just makes you FEEL sad
  • And any book that can make you feel an emotion with just words on a page is basically magic (here I go with that word again)
  • It’s very atmospheric in a new refreshing way (when it comes to atmospheric books, they’re either dark moody island atmospheric or lush fantasy world atmospheric) and almost borderlines on magical realism. But it’s not, it just makes you feel bigger than life. . . if that makes sense?
  • I’ve read it 5 times and the end still makes me cry every time — but they’re good, bittersweet tears
  • It’s a love triangle done well and realistically and I actually loved both boys at the same time for different reasons

BONE GAP by Laura Ruby

bone gap

This book changed my mind about magical realism. While I like contemporary fantasy, sometimes magical realism is a little too. . . strange and random and a little too purple prose-y for me. But this book is magical and realistic all in a way that’s relatable and believable and just really well done.

Why I think everyone should read it:

  • The language is gorgeous and almost hypnotic
  • I couldn’t put this book down; I read the whole thing in one day
  • It felt like I was in a dream when I was done
  • I love how Finn is soft and Petey is sharp
  • Petey wasn’t conventionally beautiful, but Finn thought her and her personality were
  • The dialogue is goals (do people still say #goals anymore?). But, the dialogue was dreamy but also realistic, all at the same time.

WHERE THINGS COME BACK by John Corey Whaley

where things come

Why is this book so underrated? I think I picked it up at the library on whim once before I went on vacation. And I just don’t hear anyone talk about it, but it deserves so much recognition.

Why I think everyone should read it:

  • There are two seemingly unrelated stories, and as they get closer and closer together, you realize what the author is doing and it’s just amazing
  • This is one of the books I wish I could forget I read and then read it for the first time again
  • But I can’t, so I’m telling other people to go read it
  • It’s not magic realism, but the writing is so charming that it feels magical
  • I really liked the way it handled religion. I think it’s really interesting the way that religion is so strongly tied to some people’s identity, and this book had me thinking a lot about religion and the way it defines some people.

THE RAVEN CYCLE by Maggie Stiefvater

raven boys

This one is breaking the rules, but they’re my rules, so that’s okay. . . right? I’ll count a series as one item on my list if I want to. (I will also end sentences in prepositions)

Why I think everyone should read it:

  • This series is fantastic. I’m not a big series person, but I really really really loved the characters that I just had to read all four books. The plot is also perfect and gorgeously woven
  • Each book got better and better and the search for the king never got old, even after four books
  • The Raven Boys was the book that encouraged me to step out of the box I had put myself in as both a reader and a writer. I used to only write and read primarily YA contemporary, but this series showed me how putting stories into a box doesn’t really work because I don’t even know what genre this would be
  • I went from disliking Gansey to furiously loving Gansey with all my heart and soul and that manipulation of my emotions is some kind of sorcery
  • Also Blue is the best protagonist, like, ever
  • The writing is sharp and clever and beautiful all at the same time

coffee divider-2

Let's Talk!Are any of these books on your top favorites list? Have you read any of them? Do you have a definitive list of books you recommend to everyone?

Author: Madeline Bartson

Writer, bookworm, Hufflepuff. Fueled by caffeine and writing dreams. I want to share tips, tricks, motivation & inspiration for turning dreams into reality.

17 thoughts on “5 Books I Recommend to Everyone”

  1. Ahhh I just LOVE how similar our bookish taste is 😀 I LOVED The Sky Is Everywhere so, so much, it made me feel so sad and always will be one of my favorite books. I also loved The Raven Cycle so, very very much. I can’t WAIT to read Summer of Salt, it’s been on my TBR for a little while now and I really want to get to it soon, you make it sound so good 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *high fives* Congrats on your awesome book taste lol! I’m usually an upbeat and happy person, so it was amazing how SAD The Sky is Everywhere made me feel. Like it’s crazy how the story just manipulated my feelings like it was nbd. I hope I’m not overhyping Summer of Salt! It was just one of those stories that hit really close to home, and it was also so beautifully woven. When it all came together, I was breathless.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. YES, I love this! I adored Summer of Salt, it’s really just the most gorgeous book with the best characters and EVERYTHING. I also love the Raven Cycle, which I am currently reading. I’m on the last book, but I’m procrastinating it because I don’t want it to end. Also, I LOVE GANSEY WITH EVERY ATOM OF MY BEING. He is definitely the book love of my life, and I’m screaming, because you love him too AND I LOVE TALKING ABOUT GANSEY WITH OTHER PEOPLE. *deep breath*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha yes! We have such a similar taste in books! 🙌 I love how I went from disliking Gansey just because Blue did to absolutely LOVING him. I devoured that series! The end was so good in a way I didn’t even expect. I hope you like it!!!! And I’m down to fan girl over Ganesy anytime! 💛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, yes!! That’s one of my favorite parts of the whole series, and I’m so glad you brought it up because I was having a meh day (LIKE WHEN IS THANKSGIVING BREAK ALREADY) but this totally just put a smile on my face. 🙂 It’s so crazy because the whole time I’m going “awww” over Blue and Gansey, shipping them harder than I think I’ve ever shipped anything before, but at the same time I know that if Blue kisses him, Gansey’s dead. It’s high stakes and so dramatic but Gansey is so sweet and Blue is so smart and I love it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. AWWW I’m so happy it made you smile! 🙂 Gansey can always make me smile ahh. I literally ship Gansey and Blue with all my heart, which is crazy because you know he’s the love of my life, but I mean since I can’t have him I want Blue too. Also, they’re utterly adorable.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment